Robin Hood Primary School logo

Robin Hood Primary School

Aiming High to Excel and Exceed

Foundation Stage Curriculum

EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) Curriculum


At Robin Hood, the curriculum delivered in our EYFS for children from birth to 5 years old. Development Matters is that statutory framework that all schools and childcare providers use in order to meet its guidelines and standards. It has recently undergone a review with amended guidance that became effective as of January 2024. This curriculum is inclusive of all children, including those with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities.   

Our teaching and provision are designed to support the skills detailed as the Characteristics of Effective Learning:


Playing and exploring

Active Learning

Creating and thinking critically


Our Nursery environment is set up with furniture and resources for children to have stimulating experiences and interesting conversations. Carpet sessions are planned to support children with explicit phonics, PSED (Personal, Social, Emotional Development), and maths teaching and opportunities to extend and consolidate this learning is provided in the independent ‘free play’ time. Children have a designated milk and fruit time, where the children are sat in a picnic style and given the opportunity to improve conversation and social skills with their friends.   

As a staff team, children and learning environments are closely observed and planned for. Both the indoor and outdoor environment are reflected on in order to maintain purposeful provision and high-quality learning opportunities.

Seven Areas of the Curriculum


Personal, social, emotional development -

Communication and language 


Physical development 






Knowledge and understanding of the world


Expressive Arts and Design